About Us Insurance Complaints Get Help Resolved Complaints Articles News Links Contact Us            Log In

Back to insurance complaints

Dustin's complaint:
October 26, 2012

Insurance Company: Hiscox Insurance
Coverage Type: Liability Insurance

  • Underwriting - Cancellation
  • PolicyHolder Service - Inadequate Service
  • PolicyHolder Service - Incompetent Employees
  • PolicyHolder Service - Delays/No Response
  • Marketing & Sales - Misrepresentation

The insurance company name is Hiscox located in chicago.

I obtained GL insurance from Hiscox in September 2012. I was very clear about what the coverage was for. The representative even asked questions specific to my business operation. I then contacted them in October 2012 to get addition insured added for a contract. This is a common practice. They gave me a ridiculous run around for a week and a half. Not returning calls and just plain lying to me. When they finally returned my call they told me that I did not have the proper insurance and they didn't think that I actually plowed snow or did landscaping. I was very clear about what I do and they know it. So according to them I was working with no insurance. Now I am active on 5 figure contracts with no insurance. If we lose those contracts we will go bankrupt.

vote up 1 vote down 0

Respond to Complaint. Insurance Carriers welcome. (No advertising allowed)

Your name/company

HTML is not allowed

[ Different Image ]

Jeff Geroux/Hiscox says:
October 31, 2012 at 2:28 PM

Sir, We have reviewed all recorded calls between you and our phone advisors. Your initial call in September did not include any mention of your snow-plowing business. We asked if you were a property manager (the occupation you selected as part of your online quote) and you said yes. That was the extent of your disclosure. Our definition of property manager does not extend to landscapers or snow-removal services. That was explained to you during your call to us in October. Our phone advisor did offer to transfer you to our partner -broker who could possibly offer you a GL quote for a company like yours and you declined that offer. I apologize for the time it took to review your policy circumstances; we aspire to be much more expedient in our services. However, as your company is not a property management entity, the policy you purchased is not designed to meet the actual needs of you or your clients, and it is appropriate that you find the correct type of policy for your circumstances.

Inpulp says:
April 4, 2022 at 1:10 PM

fast custom essay writing service pay to do my essay for me how to find the best essay writing service

Back to insurance complaints